Nina Simone

This lyric is dedicated to Nina Simone.  I wrote it mainly in Portuguese. She is a hero of mine, both in life and in music.

Date: 2013

Nina Simone
makes me think of a revolution
Nina Simone
makes me think about a solution

The colour of her skin
     dark, burnt, complete
     the thought that her voice emits

Nina Simone
I want to call you on the telephone
Nina Simone
where ever it is that your soul may roam

Her simple posture
     sitting, playing, full
     comes from a desire to be her own

Nina Simone
you don't know how it ended up
Nina Simone
if it got better or worse

The dream that comes from her voice
     I draw, write, the window
     that opens and allows me to stand and look

outside - the world is but another place
the outside - it's easy to change myself
from the outside in - I will simulate

Nina Simone
She's singing on the microphone
Nina Simone
I want to have the good that there was to have.

a.p.t.
This entry was posted in Song Lyrics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

